Home > known Issues, Setup > There is a wiki for lemonpos

There is a wiki for lemonpos

March 12, 2009

Hi,

I just enabled a wiki for lemonpos at sourceforge, and write the first article:  Installation Guide.

The wiki is here.

Im a little busy, im coding to get new features and doing other -real life- things.  An user report me a new bug on 0.7 version: doing a “Check In” with new products, they does not appear at the products View -even re-starting squeeze- but they does appear on lemon and of course they are in the products table.

I have been moving all KPassivePopup to KNotification on lemon.  KNotification uses a plasma themed passive popup.

Categories: known Issues, Setup
  1. March 18, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I would like to make a few comments and suggestions for LemonPOS. For various reasons the project needs its own site.. you can link to that site from sourceforge instead of hosting a webpage on sourceforge like it is now.. this way its better for SEO. People searching for LemonPOS .. well its hard to find. Also the project needs a forums. I wont go into detail about what forum i think would be good but… the project needs a forum for things like this. Instead of me having to leave a comment on the blog “which isn’t site hosted either :(” i could use the forums. If i wanted to contribute to the community i could use the forums, if i wanted to report a bug.. then other people experiencing the bug could see that its already been spoken about on the forums…so on and so forth. I would recommend hosting your own wordpress site/blog.. instead of how it is now “lemonpos.wordress.com” .. it would be better if it was just “www.lemonpos.com” hosting is cheap 🙂 IMO this would work wonders on the current community for LemonPOS.. and your SEO and google rankings would sky rocket which would in turn bring new users and new contributors to the project. If you would like to chat more with me “im very experienced with website design and coding.. hosting” just leave this comment up and reply to it with something that will catch my attention. Or you could start a new post/page that would let me know, something to that nature. Thanks for your time.

    • March 18, 2009 at 10:27 pm

      Of course an own domain name is cute. I have considered that in the near past, but decided to stay hosted for free.

      Domain names are cheap, but hosting services are not so cheap -at least for my current economic situation- where dolar is very expensive in my country. Consider prices for high bandwidth utilization -in case the project has many, many hits, like you say-.
      Other factors to take into account are hosting administration, install and upgrade of the applications used -blog,forum,wiki-.

      Sourceforge takes care of security and upgrades for web server, source repository, wiki, and other things -like forum i recently deactivated-, and wordpress.com does his own. Of course I pay a price for that, I cannot change wiki settings file to allow anyone to edit pages, I cannot install themes for the wiki and for wordpress at wordpress.com.

      This let me use my free time for coding -and a little time for posting here-.

      Even so, I want to have an own domain for the project, and I was planing to buy it, and continue to be hosted in sourceforge -using the domainname-.

  2. guest
    March 30, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    also a quick question.. is it a goal or plan for LemonPOS to become its own Linux distribution? Live CD/DVD maybe?

    • April 1, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      It is not planned that. But you can even make a kubuntu live USB -persistent- and install lemonPOS. Once i did that.

  3. guest
    April 2, 2009 at 7:54 am

    has there been any talk about, groups, membership cards and a way to track customers… using social number.. phone number, address.. membership number.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
